Southeast Asian Archive Advisory Board

It is indeed a pleasure to announce the formation of a community advisory board for the Southeast Asian Archive. The purpose of this group is to assist in:

  1. obtaining archival and other pertinent materials for the collection;
  2. the outreach effort to the Southeast Asian communities and the general public;
  3. organizing activities to enhance and utilize the resources of the Archive;
  4. the University Library's fundraising effort.

Members of the board are: Paokong (John) Chang, UCI alumnus and 1992-1993 president of the UCI Laotian-Thai Cultural Club; Yen Do, editor of the Nguoi Viet daily newspaper; Diem Hoang Do, UCI alumnus; Dr. Huynh Dinh Te, Southwest Regional Laboratory; James Lam, Chair, Vietnamese American Coalition at UCI; Dieu Dinh Le, Vietnamese American Arts and Letters Association (VAALA); Huan D. Le, M.D., UCI College of Medicine; Dr. John Liu, Program in Comparative Culture; Luu Trung Khao, Association of Vietnamese Former Educators Overseas; Dr. Pham Cao Duong, Lecturer in Comparative Culture; Dat Huy Phan, Attorney and Orange Coast College counselor; Prany Sananikone, UCI Extension Director of Community Relations; Vu-Dinh Minh, M.D., UCI College of Medicine; Angela Yang, UCI Library Multicultural Services Librarian, and Anne Frank, Southeast Asian Archive Librarian. Additional members are being sought.

The first meeting was held on October 13, 1993, at the UCI Library. University Librarian Joanne Euster and Assistant University Librarian for Collections, Judith Paquette, addressed the group. An overview of the Archive's holdings and use was presented by Anne Frank. All members of the Board showed strong support and appreciation for the unique position of the Southeast Asian Archive in preserving the Southeast Asian refugee and immigrant experience in the United States. Dr. Pham Cao Duong was elected the Advisory Board's first chair. At the next meeting, to be held in early December, a chair-elect will be selected, and discussion of projects and committee formation will be continued.